Natural Hair

Why I nearly cried after the BIG CHOP 😢

Hello beautiful people,Thank you all in advance for taking the time out of your precious day to read my blog. I believe we all have something we can share with others whether big or small. There is something we can all learn from each other. This is a part of the reason I wanted to start a blog.

So….let’s get into why I nearly cried the first few days of me cutting my hair lol. One of the reason was because I literally didn’t know what to do with it. I usually do my hair every morning before I go to work and when I had longer relaxed hair, it was very easy to bush it back in a bun and am out the door. Having short natural hair I couldn’t do that anymore. I woke up early one morning to give myself some extra time to do my hair and that morning I looked in the mirror and was like ‘why did I cut my hair’, tears literally nearly came out of my eyes. I started to regret the decision I made. That day I only left the house because I would have been late to work otherwise, lol. I was satisfied but not completely happy with it.

Everything I was trying just wasn’t settling with me and giving the confidence I usually had in regards to my hair. In all honesty a part of me was afraid of people’s reactions. I didn’t know how people were going to react and what they would think about my new tweenie weenie afro (twa). Those thoughts knocked my confidence for a few days.

So many people were complimenting me, but for me I just wasn’t completely sold on my new haircut. When I really think about it, I was more concerned on what others would say and think rather than how I would look at myself and what I would think. I was frustrating myself because I kind of wanted everyone to accept my hair lol. Silly I know but that’s how we think sometimes as human beings. We all want to be accepted one way or another.

It then hit me… ‘Chev, you didn’t do this for anyone to accept you, you did this because you wanted to, you did this for yourself’. It’s funny how we can do things for everyone to accept us and be happy with us but in reality, that’s just impossible. We can and will never be able to please everyone no matter how hard we try. That’s just not how the world works.

An important lesson I learnt in this is, whatever you do, do for yourself first and never forget that. In return whether people like the decision you made or not, it won’t affect you because you didn’t do it for them in the first place!

P.S I don’t have that problem anymore, I am embracing my natural hair more and more each day and I am loving the experience coming with it.

I would love to hear from you, please leave your comments on what you think or any questions you may have….don’t forget to like, share, and follow for new post…until next time😘💁🏾

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why I nearly cried after the BIG CHOP 😢

  1. You are so right. You decided to do the big chop not for anyone but yourself. I had no idea what twa meant haha but you actually rock it so well Chevz.

    Mich x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

