Uncategorized

How will I do my hair when it’s time to go out? 🤷🏽‍♀️🍛🍹

Hi everyone,It’s me again lol.

I want my blog to be on my real experiences. I don’t want to write about things I don’t really know. When I was researching before I did my big chop I was trying to find things that were relevant to me and questions I had. Reading and watching other people’s experiences really helped. Even though what works for someone else may not work for me, I learned a lot and there’s no harm in trying.

One question mark I had was….. ‘How will I do my hair when it’s time to go out to special occasions?’ Women generally make a big fuss about hair when it’s time to go out, I know I do. Before chopping all my hair off I thought about this. How will I cut all my hair off and then put on a nice outfit to go out? Hair compliments an outfit so how will having a TWA (tweenie weenie afro) compliment my outfits.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a weave person. I don’t like to wear weave (although I do occasionally). I am a person who loves to wear my real hair; it makes me feel more confident, I don’t even like wearing fake nails. Having everything natural, for me personally makes me feel way more confident with myself. I don’t think there is anything wrong with wearing weave or fake nails etc, I just prefer not to and with this preference weave was not a choice to cover my hair when it was time to go out.

With that question still in mind, I doubted if I should cut my hair. I wanted to stay in my comfort zone and just do what I was used to. A friend’s birthday dinner was coming up and I was thinking how will I do my hair? There isn’t much you can do with short natural hair (especially as low cut as mine). I didn’t know if it would suit what I would wear. Even going out to other places, I wondered if my hair cut would look good with those outfits.

Since cutting my hair, I’ve been learning what works for me as I mentioned before in a previous post. One style I love to do is a little side parting and defining my curls. I think this hairstyle works for most occasions. It’s not too casual and not very formal either (if I can say that). We all know if you have natural hair, you will have some form of curl pattern. It all varies. My curl pattern is very strange as the back of my hair is way looser than the front and the textures are also different. When I am going out I try to work with defining my curls to make them stand out more as this helps with giving me a different look as opposed to just washing my hair and not doing much to it. I will go into this more in another post.

This is an example of what I wore to my friends dinner. What was I worried about?💃🏾

If you are thinking about going natural and doing the big chop but this is a big question mark, I say no need to worry. Short hair brings out your features even more and there are plenty of outfits that will compliment your TWA. Adding a touch of makeup also enhances your natural beauty and allows everything else to shine through, I saw this helped when I did my hair and put on my outfit, it all came together.


As my hair grows, I can’t wait to try out more hairstyles, but for now its more simple ones.

Thank you for reading. Please don’t forget to like, share and comment. I would love to hear from you guys.

P.S….Self-confidence is the best outfit you can wear, whether you have short natural hair or long straight hair.

2 thoughts on “How will I do my hair when it’s time to go out? 🤷🏽‍♀️🍛🍹

Leave a Reply

