Natural Hair

Natural hair and the many products😓

Hi everyone,Hope you are all having a great Wednesday!

I remember the first time I was trying to go natural. I went into the shop to get some products for my hair. Did I even know what I was looking for? NO! lol. I ended up wasting around £20 on 3 items that I eventually gave away after relaxing my hair again.

This time round after doing the big chop, I did more research into what I needed for my hair. I think is very important for anyone deciding to go natural. If you don’t know what you need, you end up wasting money. After doing my research I had an idea of what I needed, this also related to the styles (even though it’s just one I stick with at the moment lol) I would be doing as I have short hair. I didn’t just want products that would style my hair but also ones that would promote growth and health.

Hair shops can be a trap lol. Whenever I go in I always want to buy every product in the shop. The long isles filled with everything you could think of is so tempting.


The first few products I have started off with are coconut oil, olive oil, argon oil (oil treatment), ecostyler gel for my edges and shea moisture curl enhancing smoothie.

I was using the coconut oil for the first few days and noticed that it made my hair feel very course. Although it has a lot of benefits, I didn’t like how it made my hair feel so I have stopped using it and now use it for my skin.

Benefits of coconut oil for hair….

• Promotes growth

• Helps with dandruff

• Fights against hair breakage and split ends

• Softens and adds shine  


As I said, I didn’t like what it was doing to my hair when I was using it so I stopped. That’s not to say that if you decide to use it, it won’t work for you. Different hair types respond to products differently so I believe it’s worth a try.

I love using olive oil in my hair. When my hair was relaxed I used it a lot and it really helped my hair to gain strength and growth. I stopped for a long time though and my hair started to break. I use it now and I really can see the difference. It adds shine and I believe it’s helping to stimulate growth. You wouldn’t see it now as natural hair shrinks a lot but when I stretch my hair I can see growth from a month ago when I cut my hair.

Benefits of olive oil….

• Strengthens and shine

• Help with split ends

• Softens the hair 


I am in love with the Crème of Nature argon oil. Every time I use it, it makes my hair feels super soft! I use this on a daily basis when I am styling my hair. Natural hair can become dry very very easily and I believe this product helps to keep my hair moisture and shiny. I usually use this and a bit of the olive oil.


The shea moisture curl enhancer is one product that I also love. I love products that smell good and I love the smell of this one. I wouldn’t say this product help to really define my curls but when I do use it, my curls come out a bit more. It also makes my hair feel soft which I adore.


I have never been a fan of gel because I’ve seen it break hair a lot. The ecostyler gel however is the bomb! I have been using it for a while now even with relaxed hair and it hasnt affected my hair at all. The only downfall I must say is that it does get flakey after a while but I usually sort that by rubbing a bit of olive oil😀


As I mentioned before, different products work differently for everyone. We don’t all have the same hair type so what works for me may not work for you. I do however, suggest olive and the argon oil as these are natural products and they work great, especially in keeping my hair moisture and shine.


I will still be trying out more products in the very near future, am sure there are more out there that will help with growing and keeping my hair healthy. I hope I don’t become a product junkie😳.I do think it’s very good to try new things to see what works for you and what doesn’t. If you don’t try, you won’t ever know. I will keep you updated on anything else I find that helps my hair.

I would love to hear what products have been working for you guys and maybe I will be able to try them out on my hair.💁🏾

Don’t forget to read my previous post. Like, share and comment! Don’t forget to add my Instagram page @_my_natural_hair_jounrey_.

2 thoughts on “Natural hair and the many products😓

  1. At the moment I am using Creme of Nature’s shampoo, conditioner, leave-in conditioner and everyday cream (can’t remember exactly what it’s called). I wash and deep condition my hair every week and then put the cream and leave-in conditioner in every morning and evening. I’ve realised that the material of my wig cap makes my hair dry after a long day so that’s why I put the cream and leave-in conditioner again in the evening. I’m already seeing improvements.
    I did the big chop in November 2016 and I’ve only started seeing growth now that I have this routine.
    I also use black Jamaican castor oil for my edges all around my head as I lost them due to getting severe eczema.

    Mich x
    https://michjosephblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

