Beauty · big chop · Natural Hair · Natural hair journey · twa

Why doesn’t my natural hair look like hers?😫

If you ever find yourself having this thought, the plain truth is your hair will never look like hers because you are not her. If you are thinking about going natural and you have this kind of mentality, its best not to because you may be disappointed.
I think there is a big thing on wanting your natural hair to look like so and so’s. The dream of having those cute curls, that big curly fro and being able to slick down your edges and it actually staying down lol. I am actually sitting here typing and laughing because I have been very guilty of this and I have come across others who have thought the same.

Instagram is full of natural hair ladies and they all have different texture hair. One thing that I have noticed though is that many pictures (not all) with ladies with the nice slick curly hair gets more attention. That’s just the honest truth. I find myself liking those pictures more often too. I believe it’s because of what we have grown to believe is beautiful. I am coming to realise that every hair is beautiful in its own way but a big problem I have seen with natural hair ladies sometimes is that they do not know how to take care of it. I think it’s all about learning from others and finding out what works for you.

There is a whole thing on what type of natural hair you have, 4c, 4b, 3c, 3b etc. I actually haven’t looked into this much because I don’t really put myself in that hair category. For me it doesn’t make a difference. I am just learning about my hair and what it likes and what it doesn’t. I have already found out that coconut oil doesn’t take well to my hair so I am continuing to try new products to see what works and what doesn’t.

We all have different hair and that is something we all need to have in mind especially if you are thinking about going natural. You can’t decide to go natural and expect your hair to look a certain way, it don’t work like that. I didn’t know how my hair was going to look when I decided to do the big chop and I was scared it wouldn’t look the way I may have imagined but I had to learn my hair won’t look like the pictures I may like on Instagram, but that’s ok, I can still work with my texture. As I said finding the right products is a must because this is helping me.

The moment we start to compare our hair etc is when we start to have those little complexes and may even start to look at ourselves as not beautiful. What you think about yourself shouldn’t come from the opinion of others or comparing how you look to someone else. I said it before and I will say it again ‘beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.’

Let’s stop comparing our hair to this person and that person and start to embrace what we have. I love how unique our natural hair can be. Your texture is just as beautiful as the other persons and don’t let no one tell you otherwise!

These are  a few pictures of my hair. To be honest I am very shocked that my hair looks like this! I didn’t expect it to look the way it does. Please bare in mind it looks like this because I do use products. Without my ecostyler gel it’s doesn’t look like this but it doesn’t mean I love my hair any less😊
Don’t forget to follow my Instagram page to follow the journey with pictures of how I do my hair and products I tend to normally use. @_chevz_natural_hair_journey_

Thanks for reading, please like share and comment!

4 thoughts on “Why doesn’t my natural hair look like hers?😫

  1. Yess I get this all the time.. People complimenting me on my hair and asking me what products to use so they can get their curls to be a certain way.. I want them all to read your post.. Also, my hair hates COCONUT OIL too.. I learned that the hard way!! I’m going to hop over on IG and follow you!! Thank you for posting ☺️

    Like

Leave a Reply

