Beauty · big chop · Natural Hair · Natural hair journey · twa

Patience Patience Patience! 

Are you thinking about going natural or in the process of transition? Did you do the big chop? Are you thinking ‘why is my hair not growing’?Patience, patience, patience. I have a habit of playing with my hair and length checking every single day lol. I mean every single day!

We all know that natural hair does some pretty amazing things. You may look at someone’s natural hair and think its short, I dare you to go and pull a few strands. You will be pleasantly surprised. That’s part of the beauty about our hair; it’s so versatile and does some things we just don’t understand sometimes.

It’s been 7 weeks since I did the big chop. Have I seen growth? Sure I have but you probably won’t be able to tell. This little fro does hide and seek (lol). Sometimes I see the growth and sometimes I think ‘is my hair even moving.’ That’s where I’ve been learning to be patient. I notice that am the kind of person that when I want something or if I make a decision to do something but really make a decision, I just don’t want to wait, I act straight away. That can be very dangerous btw because I have done things without thinking properly.

Hair doesn’t grow over night. It takes a lot of care and time for it to grow. We hear a lot that black natural hair doesn’t grow but that’s not true because I’ve seen many natural hair women with beautiful long hair. It’s just all about how we take care of it. Sometimes it’s to do with a person’s gene but I also believe how we take care of our hair plays a part.

I know many people may be thinking they don’t want to go natural because their hair won’t grow or it will take too long. Well, that’s a part of life, some things take longer than others but it’s how bad you want it that will determine if you will stick to what it is you set out to do in the first place. That’s the thing, when you do things for you and not for everyone else you don’t lose that focus no matter how long it takes.

We can be very impatient human beings. We want something and we want it now. If we think we can’t get it now then we change our minds or try to find an easier route. I encourage anyone thinking about going natural to learn patience. As I said before our hair is amazing at doing things we don’t necessarily understand or would like it to do but that’s a part of the journey and learning about your hair. I personally cannot wait to have my hair at the length I desire to have, I guess that’s why I do length checks everyday lol.

Not having patience with your hair can make you go back to relaxers or do things that may even damage your hair. Think about the goals you set out for your hair and continue to learn to care for it knowing that it takes time to get to where you want it to be.

This also taught me that in anything to do with life we have to have patience otherwise we will end up doing things we regret or even missing out on something great in the long run.


This is the progress in the space of a month (hair not stretched). 

 Until next time guys…..thank you for taking the time to read, please don’t forget to like, share and comment. I love to hear from you guys.

Instagram – @_chevz_natural_hair_journey_

Leave a Reply

