Beauty · big chop · Hairstyles · Natural Hair · Natural hair journey · Naturalhairblog · Protectivehairstyle · twa

Why doesn’t my natural hair look like hers? Part2 

This is such a big topic I had to do a part two. A lot of people I believe don’t go natural because they have in mind ‘what it should look like.’ They look at the girls on Instagram, watch all the YouTube channels and think ‘o my gosh, I want my hair like that.’ Sorry to disappoint you but we are all uniquely made so we can never look like so and so or have so and so’s hair. I love to see women embracing what they have and not trying to compare themselves to anyone else! This is so damaging, hence why many people want to change how they look.

I decided to ask a few of my friends who are natural their pros and cons with their natural hair and here are their opinions…..
Shanna 


Embracing my natural hair has definitely taught me a lot about self love. It helped me to think deeper about why I choose certain looks and if it was purely out what I liked or based on what others considered “beautiful”. I find that it is also healthier for my hair long term, every few years I would experience hair loss which I wasn’t able to tackle until I embraced my natural hair, now I know how to deal with it in the correct way instead of overlooking the root of what triggers it and how to regrow my hair. 

Negatives, hmmm when I feel lazy and my hair actually does not cooperate at all so I just have to do a wash and go in the end. Another personal negative is when I get stressed and my hair starts breaking as a sign of me needing to rest; can be annoying as I know not everyone’s body reacts the same way and it means putting my hair away for a while to stop the breakage. 

Comparing my 4c hair to others. I think in the beginning it’s hard because certain textures are considered more because the curl patterns are looser and easier to managed but I wouldn’t change mine for anything. My curl pattern changes each time I cut my hair so I have learnt to embrace what I have.

Suraya 


I love the fact of  less use of harmful chemicals and just allowing my hair to be. 

I don’t like sometimes that I never know what to do with my hair. 

Omo 


Biggest struggle was getting used to my new texture and new length as I was very used to my long straight relaxed hair. I would see other girls with looser curls and would try to manipulate my curls with different products then came to realise I had to embrace my own texture and love it. I love the fact that my hair is thick and it has body, my hair type allows me to do a lot of versatile styles and I have the option to wear my hair short or long.
Marilyn 


My struggle sometimes is plaiting my hair every night, I find this difficult to do as I’m often tired so I end up plaiting it twice a week then just make do with the shrinkage for the other days. 

My hair is sooo versatile, I love all the hairstyles I can do. I actually love the fact that it has a mind of its own sometimes lol. I love my curl pattern when it’s wet, it’s soo cute. I love the fact that someone can look at it and think it’s short, then when I stretch it, it’s like 😱😱😱!! I love the lazy hairstyles I can do when I just can’t be bothered and it still looks good. And I love the fact that practically anything I do with my hair is a hairstyle lool

Shanika 


Aside from feeling totally empowered about embracing everything about myself. I really love the fact when I walk on street and see another natural “sister ” and its like you have this connection just through your hair. Our generation will pass on something different for children that they can be themselves and not be afraid about it😊

The hardest thing about natural hair is wash day, I hate that it takes me a whole day😒

As you can see all these beautiful ladies have totally different hair texture and it’s not everything they like about  returning natural. One thing though is that they recognise that they are different and they are embracing it along the journey. 

If you are still struggling with this learn from theses ladies who have come to love their hair and are learning to work with what they have. 

Until next time….don’t be afraid to leave your comment and share share share💁🏾

One thought on “Why doesn’t my natural hair look like hers? Part2 

Leave a Reply

